Travelog: Ya’ahowu Festival at South Nias

I love to stay near the Sorake beach so much so I keep extending my stay day by day and I was informed that there will be a cultural festival in this south part of Nias, Teluk Dalam exactly, coverin parade from different area of their in their traditional costume and art performance in Bawomataluo village. Ohhh I’m so excited to watch another war dance and its singing along with Hombo Batu where they take turn to jumpin out the stone.

war dance costumes parade at the port at Teluk Dalam, Nias
A man in a unique war dance costume made from dried pumpkin, Bawomataluo village, Nias

That day has been a glorius day where the village also granted the title as cultural village by the government and officially including as protected heritage area.

The cultural parade at Bawomataluo village, Nias. You can feel the excitement

Music and dancing fill the day of the parade and festival, and I just blown away by the excitement of the peole around who share the moment with me, the beauty of the culture that we had. Indonesia, I love you!

Leave a comment