Blu d’Amare ~ a place you could call home

Blu d'Amare ~ Gili Trawangan, Lombok, June 2013

Blu d’Amare ~ Gili Trawangan, Lombok, June 2013

During my stay at Gili, I stay at a cozy small wooden bungalow at Blu d’Amare. I found the place when I was browsing where to stay, first it refer by the trip advisor as one of the recommended restaurant for Italian food to try if you ever visit Gili Trawangan. I’m checking the web also, so much other choices too but at the end I end up in picking Blu d’Amare, something just enchanted me to pick it up. So the booked was fast, I send texting asking if there is any available room for the next day, my sched kind messy at that time since I’m taking my annual leave but at the same time I still need to do some work too so I decided to pick someplace cozy enough for myself and safe. The feedback was fast, so I dont have to look other place afterwards. All settled and I’m just ready to go from Mataram.

The journey from Mataram to Bangsal Port and hop in to Gili Trawangan is fast enough, leaving at 7 am and I arrived around 10 am in Gili Trawangan already. Kinda lost direction walking to the other side of the island before I realized I have to go the other corner to get to Blu d’Amare. The weather is hot and I almost cant hide my grin when I found the blue color, sign of Blu d’Amare entrance.


My bungalow

My bungalow

The front part is the restaurant, it just look like a simple place, kinda oldies with the blue theme, rustic table and chairs but in a way it is comfortable for me. There is only one table for the cashier infront of the kitchen window. The kitchen itself small enough and infront of it there is a bougenvile awning for bike parking. Another entrance is on the side of the fence.

The lazy chair under the tree <3 such a luxury

The lazy chair under the tree❤ such a luxury

I was peek my head up to one of the staff in the kitchen to tell my name and inform my status as a guest. Through the path walk that curving from one bungalow to another, the young lady brought me to the last bungalow, the small one in the corner of the bougenvilles yard and I fell in love with the place already. I've written my first impression and it is my honest impression on the early stay🙂 Hey the place might look rustic but the electricity panel is okay and the wifi working just fine. Most of the day you will not need to turn on any lamp since its bright enough.

Feeling romantic with the mosquito net ;p

Feeling romantic with the mosquito net ;p

Everything might not look like in the pictures but it is much far better for me, I just fall in love with the simplicity of the condition but yeah I’m gratefull for the aircon there hahaha… The room with all the rustic & ethnic decoration works fine for me. If you ever understand what I felt, I mean if you travel a lot, you could go to five stars hotel with high class decoration and all the entertainment package but at the end it hardly to feel homey in such place.

Welcome drink, a fresh & healthy papaya juice :)

Welcome drink, a fresh & healthy papaya juice🙂

nom nom nom

nom nom nom

Morning light

Morning light

the beach just few steps away :)

the beach just few steps away🙂

A wide and unique bathroom

A wide and unique bathroom

through the door

through the door

inside the bathroom

inside the bathroom

under the bougenviles canopy

under the bougenviles canopy

When I’ve meet Moreno & Sandra, an Italian couple as the owner of the place, in a way they welcome all the guests with a big smile and a kind heart just like welcoming a long time no see relatives. They greet you, smile and at the same time they also know to treat us as a guest and respect our privacy. And as an Italian which famous for the food, she and her staffs feed me so well for breakfast that keep my dragon full up till dinner time. She is one of the woman that not only thinking for the business as she only build 4 bungalows for the guests and let the wide space planted with flowers and trees. If she thinking for business only I bet the space is enough for 20 rooms but if that happen the magical feeling that surround the place will be disappear rite? For a person who come from foreign country, you can acknowledge that they loves the island so much to decided to stay there, a brave couple indeed.

you can find bougenville anywhere easily but this one that I took there is as bright as the sky and my smile :)

you can find bougenville anywhere easily but this one that I took there is as bright as the sky and my smile🙂

look at the texture of the woods ^^

look at the texture of the woods ^^

And as for the food in the restaurant, I dont like western food that much but hey I’m here so at least I have to try one of the menu for my reference, so I try to sit nicely in one of the table in my last night before I jump back to Bali. I ask for recommended menu from one of the staff (haaaaa I forget the menu that I’ve tried) but the garlic bread and the seafood pasta is so fresh and superb.

At first, I only intend to stay for 3 days but at the end I ended up to spend the whole week there. Such a great distraction though, I’ll be back soon okay❤

2 thoughts on “Blu d’Amare ~ a place you could call home

Leave a Reply

